2012 CCEE Plenary Assembly List of participants

Updated 13.09.2012

Bishops' Conferences

ALBANIA - President: His Grace Mgr Angelo Massafra, Archbishop of Shkodra

AUSTRIA - President: Cardinal Christoph Schönborn, Archbishop of Vienna

BELGIUM - President: His Grace Mgr André-Joseph Léonard, Archbishop of Malines-Bruxelles

BELARUS - President: His Lordship Mgr Aleksander Kaszkiewicz, Bishop of Grodno

BOSNIA-HERZEGOVINA - President: His Lordship Mgr Franjo Komarica, Bishop of Banja Luka

BULGARIA - President: His Grace Mgr Christo Proykov, Apostolic Exarch of Sophia

CROATIA - President: His Grace Mgr Marin Srakic, Archbishop of Đakovo and Osijek

CYPRUS - His Grace Mgr Youssef Soueif, Archbishop of Cyprus of the Maronite

CZECH REPUBLIC – Delegate: Mgr Tomas Holub, General Secretary of the Bishops' Conference and <u>delegate of the President H.E. Mgr Dominik Duka OP</u>, Archbishop of Praga

ENGLAND AND WALES – President: His Grace Mgr Vincent Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster

FRANCE - President: Cardinal André Vingt-Trois, Archbishop of Paris

GERMANY – Delegate: His Lordship Mgr Heinrich Mussinghoff, Bishop of Aachen, Vice-President of the German Bishops' Conference and <u>delegate of the President</u> H.E. Mgr Robert Zollitsch, Archbishop of Freiburg

GREECE – President: His Lordship Mgr Fragkískos Papamanólis OFMCap, Bishop of Syros and Santorini

HUNGARY – President: Cardinal Péter Erdő, Archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest, CCEE President

IRELAND - President: Cardinal Seán B. Brady, Archbishop of Armagh

ITALY - President: Cardinal Angelo Bagnasco, Archbishop of Genoa - CCEE Vice-President

LITHUANIA – Delegate: Cardinal Audrys Juozas Backis, Archbishop of Vilnius and <u>delegate of the</u> President H.E. Mgr Sigitas Tamkevicius, Archbishop of Kaunas

LATVIA - President: His Grace Mgr Zbignev Stankevics, Archbishop of Riga

LUXEMBOURG – His Grace Jean-Claude Hollerich, Archbishop of Luxembourg

MOLDOVA REPUBLIC - His Lordship Mgr Anton Cosa, Bishop of Chişinău

MUKACHEVO – His Grace Milan Sasik, Eparch of Mukachevo

NORDIC COUNTRIES (Sweden, Norway, Finland, Denmark, Island) – **President:** His Lordship Mgr Anders Arborelius, Bishop of Stockholm

POLAND - President: His Grace Mgr Józef Michalik, Archbishop of Przemysl - CCEE Vice-President

PORTUGAL - President: Cardinal José da Cruz Policarpo, Patriarch of Lisbon

PRINCIPALITY OF MONACO - His Grace Mgr Bernard Barsi, Archbishop of Monaco

ROMANIA – Delegate: His Lordship Mgr Virgil Bercea, Bishop of Oradea Mare and <u>delegate of the</u> President S.B. Lucian Mureşan, Archbishop Major of Fagaras and Alba Lulia

RUSSIAN FEDERATION – President: His Grace Mgr Paolo Pezzi, Archbishop of the Archdiocese of the Mother of God in Moscow

SCOTLAND - President: Cardinal Keith Patrick O'Brien, Archbishop of St. Andrews and Edinburgh

SLOVAKIA - President: His Grace Mgr Stanislav Zvolenský, Archbishop of Bratislava

SLOVENIA – Delegate: His Lordship Stanislav Lipovsek, Bishop of Celje and <u>delegate of the President</u> His Grace Mgr Anton Stres, Archbishop of Ljubljana

SPAIN - President: Cardinal Antonio Maria Rouco Varela, Archbishop of Madrid

SS. CYRILL AND METHODIUS (International Bishops' Conference) – **President:** His Grace Mgr Zef Gashi, Archbishop of Bar

SWITZERLAND – President: His Lordship Mgr Norbert Brunner, Bishop of Sion and His Lordship Mgr Markus Büchel, Bishop of St. Gallen and Vice-President of the Bishops' Conference of Switzerland

THE NETHERLANDS - President: Cardinal William Jacobus Eijk, Archbishop of Utrecht

TURKEY – Delegate: Rev. Anton Bulai, General Secretary of the Bishops' Conference and <u>delegate of the President H.E. Mgr Ruggero Franceschini, Archbishop of Smirne</u>

UKRAINE (Bizantine Rite) – President: His Beatitude Sviatoslav Shevchuk, Archbishop Major of Kiev and Galizia

UKRAINE (Latin rite) - President: His Grace Mgr Mieczyslaw Mokrzycki, Archbishop of Lviv

Bishops in charge of CCEE Commissions

Commission "Catechesis, School, University" – His Grace Mgr Vincent Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster

Commission "Caritas in Veritate"- His Grace Mgr Giampaolo Crepaldi, Bishop of Trieste

Holy See

Cardinal Marc Ouellet, Prefect of the Congregation for Bishops

Mgr Aldo Giordano, Special Envoy - Permanent Observer of the Holy See to the Council of Europe

Guest of continental bishops' organisation and others

H.E. Mgr Dimas Lara Barbosa, Metropolitan Archbishop of Campo Grande (Brasil) and Second Vice-President of CELAM

His Grace Mgr Tomash Peta, Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Holy Mary – President of the Bishops' Conference of Kazakhstan

His Lordship Mgr Philippe Jourdan, Apostolic Administrator of Latvia

His Lordship Mgr Virgil Bercea, Bishop of Oradea Mare - ComECE Vice-President

His Lordship Mgr András Veres, Bishop of Szombathely

His Lordship Mgr Ivo Fürer, Bishop Emeritus of St. Gallen and former CCEE General Secretary

His Lordship Mgr Amédée Grab, Bishop Emeritus of Chur and former CCEE President

Mgr Piotr Mazurkiewicz, General Secretary of ComECE

Fr. François-Xavier Damiba, SECAM General Secretary

Speakers

Prof. Marta Cartabia, Lecturer in law and judge in Italy's Constitutional Court

Mr. Roberto Simona, Research Manager in Islam and Christian Minorities - representative of *Aid to the Church in Need*

Prof. Kuno Schedler, Lecturer in business economics at the University of St Gallen

Rev. Ferenc Janka, former CCEE Vice-General Secretary

Local civil and ecclesial authorities

His Lordship Mgr Felix Gmür, Bishop of Basel

His Lordship Mgr Martin Gächter, Auxiliary Bishop of Basel

His Lordship Mgr Marian Eleganti, Auxiliary Bishop of Chur

Mr. Martin Gehrer, President of the Government of Canton St. Gallen

Mr. Thomas Scheitlin, Major of St. Gallen

Mr. Guido Corazza, President of the Katholische Kirchengemeinde of St. Gallen

Mr. Hans Wüst, President of the Katholische Konfessionsteil of St. Gallen's Canton